2005 BMO Financial Group Skate Canada Sectionals

The 2005 BMO Financial Group Skate Canada Sectionals were held in Mount Pearl, hosted by the Mount Pearl FSC.


Melissa Hussey

Natasha Osmond

Stephanie Nevin

The Travel Management Award (donated by Mr. Earl Howell in 1993). Awarded to the skater with the least number of deductions in a technical program. The Recipient was Melissa Hussey of Mount Pearl SC.

Polaris Artistic Cup (donated by the Polaris FSC in 1993). Awarded to the most artistic skater in the competition. The Judges selected Natasha Osmond of Ice Crystal

The Bank of Montreal Sectional Merit Award as selected by the Judges was awarded to the Skater(s) with the most outstanding performance during the competition. The recipient was Stephanie Nevin of Silver Jets

This year a new bursary, the Barbara Graham Memorial Bursaries, are awarded to the winners in the pre-novice singles categories in each sectional competition across Canada. Josh Brushett and Erica Nixon are the first recipients of this bursary in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Day 1 Photos - Day 2 Photos - Banquet Photos

Please mail the webmaster any photographs you have of this competition.

Skaters who qualified at this competition for the 2004 BMO Skate Canada Eastern Challenge Competition being held from December 2-5, 2004 in Mississauga, Ontario are Natasha Osmond, Jessica Oake, Sara Whelan, and Kerrilyn Evans in Novice Ladies; and Erica Nixon, Yvonne Chan, Melissa Hussey and Stephanie Nevin in Pre-Novice Ladies. They will also be accompanied by Matthew Wakeham in Novice Mens; Josh Brushett in Pre-Novice mens, Bobbi-Jo Milner, Alison Noseworthy and Alisha Coolin in Junior ladies, Amy Hearder in Senior ladies, and Ryan Sutherland/ Alisha Coolin in Junior Pairs. The top skaters in the Pre-Novice and Novice events at the 2005 BMO Skate Canada Eastern Challenge Competition will then compete at the 2005 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals.

Juvenile skaters qualified directly for the 2004 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals event being held from February 2-5, 2004 in Quebec City. They are Stephanie Fagan in Juvenile Ladies, Alex White in Juvenile Men and Alexandra and Matthew Young in Juvenile Pairs.

Brief results are given below. We also have complete results with ordinal placements

For reference we have the announcement, entry list and schedule on line.


Preliminary Ladies
1Willar, HaleyMount Pearl
2Walsh, MaggiePrince of Wales
3Petten, RachaelCBN
4Snow, CarlyNotre Dame
5Barry, SaraCBN
Pre Juvenile Pairs
1Dunphy, Renee/ Power, MatthewIce Crystal
2Lewis, Samantha/ Myrden, JerrodSnowflake
Pre Juvenile Ladies
1Mercer, JuliaPrince of Wales
2Burton, KristaMount Pearl
3Bishop, AshleyMount Pearl
4Stylianides, AnnaPrince of Wales
5Chan, NicolePrince of Wales
6Dunphy, ReneeIce Crystal
7Morgan, AshleyPrince of Wales
8Healey, SuzannahConception Bay South
9Pack, BrittanyPort Aux Basques
Pre Juvenile Men
1Power, MatthewIce Crystal
2Myrden, JerrodSnowflake
3Connell, JonathanSnowflake
Juvenile Pairs
1Young, Alexandra/Young, MatthewSilver Blades
2Osmond, Natasha/Brushett, JoshuaIce Crystal
Juvenile Men
1White, AlexSnowflake
2Young, MatthewSilver Blades
Juvenile Ladies
1Fagan, StephaniePrince of Wales
2Burton, JillSilver Blades
3Young, AlexandraSilver Blades
4Osmond, KaetlynIce Crystal
5Kennedy, KaylaPrince of Wales
6Mason, JuliaSouth Conception Bay
7Penney, SaraMount Pearl
8Kelsey BlundonIce Crystal
9Drover, AngelaCrystal Gliders
10Burt, NicolePrince of Wales
Pre Novice Ladies
Final Short Long
1 3 1 Nixon, Erica Mount Pearl
2 4 2 Chan, Yvonne Prince of Wales
3 1 4 Hussey, Melissa Mount Pearl
4 5 3 Nevin, Stephanie Silver Jets
5 2 5 Coady, Caitlin Ice Crystal
6 7 6 Sparkes, Jamie Silver Blades
7 6 7 Milner, Rebecca Sparkling Blades
8 8 8 Harris, Francine Silver Blades
Novice Ladies
Final Short Long
1 2 1 Osmond, Natasha Ice Crystal
2 1 2 Oake, Jessica Notre Dame
3 3 3 Whelan, Sara Mount Pearl
4 4 4 Evans, Kerrilyn Prince of Wales
5 5 5 Brown, Kristen Polaris
6 6 6 Hillier, Kimmy Deer Lake
Single entries
Preliminary Men
Penney, Roland Mount Pearl
Pre Novice Men
Brushett, Joshua Ice Crystal
Novice Men
Wakeham, Matthew Conception Bay North
Junior Ladies
Milner, Bobbi Jo Sparkling Blades
Senior Ladies
Hearder, Amy Mount Pearl