Thistle Shield

Susan Thistle, president Prince of Wales SC presents the Thistle Shield to Section competition chair, Pat Clarke in 2003

Agnes Thstle presents the Thistle Shield to CBS, 2006

The Thistle Shield is presented to the club with the most points at the Skate Newfoundland and Labrador Junior Provincial Championships. Prince of Wales Skating Club presented this trophy to Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador in 2003. The club decided to donate the trophy in honour of the many years of dedicated volunteer work put in by Agnes Thistle, a club member, former club executive member, and high-level judge. Agnes Thistle has received many awards, including Provincial Judge of the year (twice), Canadian Judge of the year, and the Skate Canada Volunteer Award of Excellence. She was made an honourary member of Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador in 2007, and an inaugural member of the Hall of Fame in 2010.


  • 2014 Silver Blades SC
  • 2013: Silver Jets SC
  • 2012: Sparkling Blades SC
  • 2011: Sparkling Blades SC
  • 2010: Prince of Wales SC
  • 2009: Sparkling Blades SC
  • 2008: Sparkling Blades SC
  • 2007: Silver Blades SC
  • 2006: Conception Bay South SC
  • 2005: Silver Blades SC
  • 2004: Mount Pearl SC