2017 SCNL Synchronized Skating Championships

This event was held March 10-11, 2017 at the Steele Community Centre, Gander, NL.

The Cornel Trophy (awarded annually to the team, who in the opinion of the judges was the best team in the competition) was presented to the Genesis Elementary team from CBS SC.

The Butt Trophy (presented to the team who best […]


The Skate Canada Achievement Awards were presented at the Skate Canada NL Awards Banquet, following the AGM. Award winners included:- Volunteer Award of Excellence – Susan Thistle (Prince of Wales) Section Volunteer Award – Perry Dalton (Mount Pearl Paradise) Officials Award – Stephanie Nevin (Silver Blades) Volunteer Coach Award – Brittany Baril (Silver Wings)

Program […]

Award winners

Award winners

At the Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador annual general meeting, the following awards were presented at the annual awards banquet:- Section Volunteer Award of Excellence: Gail Hopkins, Flying Blades Section Volunteer award: Wanda Philpott, Flying Blades Competitive skater: Sophia Burke, Mount Pearl StarSkater of the year: Amber Tremblett, Notre Dame Section CanSkate […]


The following awards were presented at the annual Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Awards banquest.

Skate Canada Volunteer of Excellence Award – Dave Dove, Island Blades FSC Skate Canada CanSkater Award – Samuel Ruttgaizer, Ice Crystal FSC Skate Canada STARSkate Athlete Award – Allison Walsh, PARC FSC Skate Canada CompetitiveSKate Athlete Award – Dylan Short, […]

2012 Awards

The award winners

Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador held a very successful Annual General Meeting and Awards Banquet this Friday and Saturday at the Battery Hotel, St. John’s. The event was attended by over 100 delegates representing most of the clubs in the province. At the Awards Banquet, Joyce Martin-Stuckless of Island […]

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador awards

Congratulations are extended to Joey Russell on being named one of three finalists for the Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Senior Male Athletes of the Year.

2012 SCNL Provincial Synchronized Skating Championships

Starlites Open

Twenty-eight teams were in Corner Brook this weekend competing in the 2012 Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Synchronized Skating Championships. This represented the largest entry since 2006, and involved over 400 skaters from across the province ranging in age from six years to adult. The Cornel Trophy was awarded to TP […]

Nominate a Skating Great!

Since 2010, The Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Hall of Fame has been paying tribute to athletes, professionals and builders who have made a significant impact on figure skating in our province . Each year, nominations are reviewed by the Hall of Fame Committee and a maximum of four inductees are honoured each year. Often, […]

2011-2012 Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Achievement Award Nominations

Below are the 2011-2012 Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Achievement Award Nomination forms. These documents include the complete program for the Skate Canada Achievement Awards for this season. Also included are: proper award names, award criteria, distribution information, and contact information. All nomination forms must be received by Thursday, February 2, 2012. Previous winners


2011 Rebecca Pack Memorial Friendship Skate

The 2011 Rebecca Pack Memorial Friendship Skate took place at the Glacier, Mount Pearl on Saturday, September 24, 2011. In the spring of 2006 the Pack Family and the skating community lost a dear child and skater, Rebecca Pack. To celebrate Rebecca’s love of life and skating, the Pack Family established in her memory “The […]

Skate Canada AGM

Christine Morgan and Cynthia Phaneuf

Skate Canada’s Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) took place over the weekend in Charlottetown, P.E.I., with Skate Canada members from all 13 sections being honoured at the annual awards gala on Friday, May 27. Christine Morgan, of Prince of Wales SC, was the award winner from our section […]

Outstanding Accomplishments of Provincial Athletes Honoured

Robyn-Lynn McGrath & Matthew Power at the awards presentation

More than 95 of the province’s elite male and female athletes were honoured at the 8th Annual Premier’s Athletic Awards, hosted last evening at the Holiday Inn St. John’s by the Honourable Kathy Dunderdale, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador. “Every year Newfoundland and Labrador continues […]

2011 Skate Canada NL AGM

BMO Financial Group CanSkater of the Year Becky Drover

The 2011 Skate Canada NL AGM and Coach Development Weekend took place May 6th – 8th, 2011 at the Capital Hotel in St. John’s. At Saturday’s banquet the following award winners were announced:- Skate Canada Volunteer Award of Excellence: Christine Morgan, Prince of Wales Skate […]

2011 Lamontagne Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Championships

Mount Pearl – Chapman Shield

The 2011 Lamontagne Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Provincials concluded on Sunday at the Jack Byrne Arena, Torbay, NL, hosted by Prince of Wales SC (40 action photos by Tony Seaward added on March 15…).

Polaris Ice Dance Award (Best Unison): Caylie HOPKINS/Dawson MUNRO – Snowflake SC E C […]

Central Regionals

The 2011 Central Regional Figure Skating Championship were held in Twillingate on January 22-23, 2011 hosted by the Island Blades FSC.