Skate Canada Newfoundland & Labrador

August 7, 2009


Filed under: — admin @ 3:52 pm

A series of short biographies of prominent members of the skating community in the Province, compiled by Marion Jeans

  • Barbara Predham – section chair, founding member Mount Pearl FSC
  • Tina Furlong – skater, judge, accountant, and much more
  • Judy Mugford – “one of the finest PR persons within local amateur sport”
  • Armorel Crowdy (Armie) Miller – pioneer of figure skating in St. John’s
  • Elizabeth Swan; pioneer of figure skating in Newfoundland and Labrador and synchronised skating in Canada
  • Barbara Ryan, former CFSA President
  • Alex Balisch – Newfoundland’s first professional coach, and volunteer
  • Caroline Allen – volunteer, coach, judge with Deer Lake FSC
  • Daphne Anstey – volunteer with Notre Dame FSC, Central Region director
  • Eileen Lomond – founding president Port aux Basques FSC, Western Region director
  • Elizabeth Attersley – long time Polaris volunteer, Labrador region director
  • Hilary Cass – founding member CBN, judge, Avalon region director
  • Jean Burden – first recipient of 25 year pin in province, Trinity region director
  • Joyce Crim – long time section volunteer, judge, Avalon region director
  • Kathy Reid – dedicated volunteer with Bell Island, Section recreation chair
  • Maud Fraser – dedicated volunteer with Silver Blades
  • Joan Targett – another dedicated volunteer with Silver Blades
  • Sandy Facey – skater, judge, section volunteer
  • Shirley Hart – Avalon and Eastern Region director, section treasurer

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress